Tag Archives: Bye-election

Bayelsa Bye-election: PDP’s Dickson declared winner


Former Bayelsa State Governor Seriake Dickson of the Peoples Democratic Party has been declared winner of the Bayelsa West Senatorial District by-election.

He polled a total of 115,257 votes to defeat his rival, Peremobowei Ebebi of the All Progressives Congress who polled a total of 17,500 votes.



Imo bye-election: APC wins senatorial seat


Ibezim was disqualified on the grounds that he made false statements/declarations in the affidavit and documents submitted to the APC.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of the just concluded Imo North senatorial district bye-election but unable to return any APC candidate.

The returning officer, Hakeem Adigun who announced the result said the APC scored a total of 36, 811 votes to beat his rival from the Peoples Democratic Party, Emmanuel Okewulonu who scored 31, 903 votes.


According to the electoral body, the decision not to declare any candidate as the winner is due to several court orders authenticating the true candidate of the party in the bye-election.

You may recall with NoRM that 24 hours to the election, a Court of Appeal sitting in Owerri gave a judgment disqualifying Ifeanyi Ararume as APC’s candidate.

On the same day, a Federal High Court sitting in Abuja also disqualified Frank Ibezim from contesting the election.

Meanwhile, Imo State Governor, Hope Uzodimma, has reacted to the outcome of the election where INEC declared APC the winner of the election without returning any candidate.


Speaking to journalists at the Government House in Owerri, Uzodinma thanked the people of the senatorial district for voting overwhelmingly for the APC, noting that the victory has shown once again that Imo is an APC state.

Governor Uzodinma, however, said he will not join any issues with INEC, adding that with the recent Court of Appeal judgment and the statement from the APC National Executive Committee, Frank Ibezim is the authentic candidate.



Lagos Bye-election: Obafemi Hamzat delivers polling unit


The ADP got two votes and the ADC followed with one vote. One of the votes cast at the unit was voided.

The Lagos State Deputy Governor Obafemi Hamzat has delivered his Polling Unit 004, Ward 4, Oke-Balogun registration area for the candidate of his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC), Tokunbo Abiru.


The APC’s Abiru scored 97 votes out of the 111 votes cast at the unit, while his closest challenger, Babatunde Gbadamosi of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) got 10 votes.

The number of registered voters at the unit is 738.



By-election: We will accept only credible candidates – APC


The All Progressives Congress (APC) has said it will only accept credible candidates for the October 31 concurrent legislative by-elections scheduled to be conducted across eight states of the Federation.

APC Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee Chairman, Governor Mai Mala Buni, gave the warning while inaugurating the Party’s Screening and Appeal Committees for the by-elections at the APC National Secretariat, Abuja, according to a statement released on Thursday by spokesman Yekini Nabena.

The Committees are saddled with the responsibility of screening APC Candidates for the by-elections.

Buni, who was represented at the inauguration on Wednesday by the APC Caretaker Committee secretary, Senator John Udoedeghe, further stated that the party was moving in a new direction and would ensure that things were done properly.

FILE: APC Caretaker Committee Chairman and Yobe State Governor, Mai Mala Buni, at the APC National Secretariat in Abuja on June 29, 2020. (Noble Reporters Media //)

He charged the members of the Committees to be fair to all the aspirants and ensure that only those with impeccable records in their careers were chosen as APC candidates.

Responding on behalf of the other members, Prof. Stephen Ocheni assured that the members of the Screening and Appeal Committees would discharge their assignment with fairness and a sense of responsibility. Ocheni who was a former Minister expressed gratitude to the national leadership of the Party for the confidence reposed in them and for giving them the task to perform on behalf of the Party.


Below is the party’s schedule of activities for the legislative by-elections:

– Screening of Aspirants: Wednesday August 26th, 2020 – Thursday August 27th, 2020.

– Publication of Claims and Objections: Friday 28th August, 2020

– Screening Appeal: Tuesday 1st, September, 2020

– Primary Election: Thursday 3rd, September, 2020

– Election Appeal: Saturday 5th, September, 2020


Just in: PDP wins sokoto state by-election.

Mr. Abubakar Adamu of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has emerged winner of by-election for Kebbe constituency in Sokoto State House of Assembly.

The state’s Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Head of Voter Education and Public Affairs, Mr. Muhammad Musa said this while speaking on Sunday in Sokoto.

Musa said that seven candidates participated in the March 14, by-election.

He said Adamu scored 15, 663 votes, while Mr. Abubakar Umaru of All Progressives Congress (APC) polled 254 votes to emerge second.

He said Mr. Adamu Musa of All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) scored 63 votes, while Mr. Shehu Magaji of APP scored 15 votes.


APC wins Bye-election in Jigawa.

The All Progressives Congress (APC)’s candidate, Muhammad Musa Fagen-Gawo, has won the Babura/Garki Federal Constituency bye-election in Jigawa.

Prof. Ahmad Kutama, the Returning Officer, declared the result at the collation centre in Babura’s local government area. He revealed that Fagen-Gawo polled 48,318 votes to beat other candidates across the 302 polling units.

Kutama said the APC candidate defeated his closest rival, Nasiru Garba Dantiye of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 24,135 votes. He also beat the third contestant, Bashir Umar of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) who secured 458 votes.

The electoral officer, therefore, declared Fagen-Gawo the winner, having secured the highest number of votes in the election.