Buhari appoint more ambassadors


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the renewal of the appointments of 12 non-career ambassadors in a move to address complaints about the recent appointments of 41 non-career ambassadors.

A statement issued by Garba Shehu, Senior Special Assistant to the President (Media & Publicity) in Abuja on Thursday gave the ambassadors whose appointments were renewed as Mrs Uzoma E. Emenike (Abia), Yusuf M. Tuggar (Bauchi), Muhammad B. Madugu (Bauchi), Ambassador Baba Ahmad Jidda (Borno) and Uyigue O. Oghogho (Edo).

Others are Dr Eniola Ajayi (Ekiti), Deborah S. Iliya (Kaduna), Mohammed D. Rimi (Katsina), Professor Tijjani Muhammad-Bande (Kebbi), Dr Modupe E. Irele (Lagos), Adeyinka Asekun (Ogun) and Sen. Goni Modu Zanna Bura (Yobe).

The statement said Buhari assured Nigerians of fairness in representation and inclusiveness in all matters of governance.


It added, “The assurance from the President became necessary following recent complaints after the announcement of 41 non-career ambassadors that some states were not captured.

“The renewal of the appointments followed a performance evaluation, which necessitated an approval for continuation in office of the ambassadors and the President will still decide if they will remain in their current postings.”

The President congratulated the ambassadors on the renewal, urging them to keep upholding and promoting the values of stewardship to Nigeria, while bridging good relations with other nations.



One thought on “Buhari appoint more ambassadors”

Comments are closed.